Moda Love!

My next quilt project is finished and gifted! My sister, mother and I decided that my niece needed a quilt to treasure and keep for her little self. Josey and I found a layer cake on sale from the fine folks at Missouri Star Quilt Company  that was perfect for our niece and her personality, Moda Farm Fun by Stacy Iset Hsu and the rest is history!

I selected this pattern from a blog by April Rosenthal (read her blog post here) and loved the pattern and look of her quilt. I selected background fabrics at my local quilt shop Gina’s Bernina and started following the pattern’s instructions to create this beautiful quilt!

 

IMG_6548
Moda Love Layer Cake Quilt

It came together so nicely from the first half square triangles that I created. Each time I made one I would send my sister a text and say “look at this isn’t it gorgeous?!” Every time I cut them apart it was like opening a present! So if you are looking for an easy pattern that is layer cake friendly then look no further. I see endless possibilities here with fabric choice and background colors 🙂

This was the center of the quilt and the only square of each of these prints in the whole layer cake. So I thought showcasing them was optimal. From there I kept selecting squares to put together for half square triangles and gradually designed the quilt from the inside out.

IMG_5113

IMG_5110
I lay quilts out on the floor of my sewing room to see how they will look!
IMG_5132
Pieced and ready for the quilter!

This was only the second quilt I have put the binding on by myself, so that was a challenge but so rewarding! Binding is my favorite part because I know the quilt is almost finished and ready to gift! 🙂

IMG_5722

Just love this backing from Riley Blake fabrics!! Also found this at Gina’s Bernina!

The happy girl with her quilt!

IMG_6550

Thank you for reading my blog and happy quilting!

-Jessy Shanks

 

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑